WHC Extreme Day

What a day!

The snow conditions were horrible, icy and hard so everybody took relatively conservative lines. I had in mind to do a run farthest to the right but wasn’t sure if the snow was good enough.

Once I got up to the top of the mountain, I followed a boot track all the way across to the farthest spot on the right and just one other person had in mind to do the same line… it happened to be the very famous and talented Travis Rice.

I got up there and took a look at the run, saw Travis drop into it but he took a slightly different one. The snow was absolutely horrible but I thought I would give her hell because everything else was so average and I wanted to make an impression.

So I dropped into it and successfully navigated my way down an incredibly steep and icy face. I did end up sliding a little on my butt at the last part but it couldn’t be helped due to the extremity of the run.

Overall, I’m pretty pleased with how it went.  Whoo hoo!

WANAKA, NEW ZEALAND – AUGUST 05: Travis Rice of the USA competes during the Extreme Day of the World Heli Challlenge at Mount Aspiring National Park on August 5, 2010 in Wanaka, New Zealand. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

Content © 2010 Getty Images All rights reserved.

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

